Sambalpur the land of the divine Goddess Maa Samaleswari emerged as a Education & Industrial hub during the last decade in the Western Odisha by the way of coming up VSSUT, Burla, the Autonomous State Technical University, State Open University at G.M. Autonomous College, IIM Sambalpur & many other private Diploma and Degree Institutes along with establishment of Industries like Hindalco, at Hirakud, Aditya Aluminium at Lapanga, Bhushan Steel & Power at Thelkoli, Shyam DRI at Rengali and many other small scale Industries in an around. Govt. of Odisha during 2009-10 decided to set up a Govt. Polytechnic at Rengali located around 25 KM from Sambalpur along the industrial corridor passes from Angul to Rourkela with support of one time Financial Assistance of Rs. 12.30 crore from Govt. of India under the scheme’ ‘Setting of new Polytechnic’ in unserved of the State. The balance non-recurring expenditure & the running recurring expenditure is being borne by Govt. of Odisha to maintain quality & standard as per AICTE norms. Thus Government Polytechnic Sambalpur was established in the year 2013 to make people skilled and qualified to fetch any job in industries/Government sector including self employment.

        Govt. Polytechnic, Sambalpur (Rengali) established in 2013 duly approved by AICTE vide their File No ____dated 30.04.2013 & recognised by Govt. of Odisha and affiliated to State Council of Technical Education & Vocational Training, Bhubaneswar is one of the premier technical institutions of the state. The institute is located at a distance of 1.5 Kms from the Rengali Bus Stand & 1 Km from the Rengali Railway Station. It offers Diploma Courses in four Engineering disciplines. The institution has excellent infrastructures in terms of buildings, equipments, qualified and experienced faculties and a vast campus of 10 acres. It has the advantage of being situated in the vicinity of a supportive industrial cluster. It is controlled by the Directorate of Technical Education and Training, Odisha, Cuttack under Skill Development & Technical Education Department.